Author Topic: Author's voice in fan fiction  (Read 4539 times)

desertwind

Author's voice in fan fiction
« on: December 14, 2012, 12:47:46 am »
I've been thinking about the process of writing fan fiction. I've never gotten around to writing any before now, but I've certainly had musings and adventures with other people's characters while reading their books. Putting it down on paper is a very different process than imagining, though. In my imaginings, the characters are simply people, having experiences and doing things. But in a piece of fiction, the characters go through a translation process, where the story is told through the lens of the author. (And, in certain perspectives, through the lens of a particular character, as well.)

As a writer, I have a very strong, identifiable voice in my fiction. Obviously, so does Lindsey. If I were to go about writing a piece of EE fan fiction in my voice, it would crash and burn - they aren't my characters, and this isn't the type of world I build or story I tell. So the challenge is to attempt to write, as best I can, in the style of LB. This is a fascinating exercise. Because I'm the compulsive sort, I find myself going back to the text, asking questions, modifying my text - does Sicarius use contractions? etc. And if the content isn't something she would write (eg physical intimacy), will I be able to figure out how to merge the voice with the content?

If you write fanfic, how has your experience been with figuring out what sort of voice/language to use? And for people who read fanfic, is it noticeable to you what sort of choices the writer makes? Does it alter your experience of the story?

Um... Thanks for reading all the way through my ramblings.  :D

Kitty

• Explosives - add P for Plenty
Re: Author's voice in fan fiction
« Reply #1 on: December 14, 2012, 03:33:33 am »